Favourite Book Quotes

Whenever I am reading a book, I always bookmark parts that I really love so that I can reread them over again. I mark quotes that are funny or especially meaningful. Sometimes I mark quotes and then when I go back to them I have no idea why I marked them! I think this is like when reading a book has different meanings to you at different times in your life: A quote may have great meaning at the time but not as much later when your mind state has changed.

Here is a list of some of my favourite quotes from books that I have read (this is not a complete list as my list is always expanding and I will have to make more quote lists in the future):

  • First there is forever quotable, Dumbledore from Harry Potter. He ranges from funny to profound

    “To the well organized mind, death is but the next great adventure”

    “What happened down in the dungeons between you and Professor Quirrell is a complete secret, so, naturally the whole school knows”

    “It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live”

    “Happiness can be found even in the darkest of times, if one only remembers to turn on the light”

    and one none Dumbledore Harry Potter quote

    “According to Madam Pomfrey, thoughts could leave deeper scarring than almost anything else”

  • An Abundance of  Katharines by John Green

    You can love someone so much…But you can never love people as much as you can miss them

  • The Unbearable Book Club for Unsinkable Girls

    “My mother says that some books are good no matter when you read them, and some are good at a particular moment; they come into your life at just the right time.”

    “Boredom is why God invented books”

  • The Storied Life of AJ Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin

    “Sometimes books don’t find us until the right time.”

    “You know everything you need to know about a person from the answer to the question, What is your favorite book?

And one final quote to live by

“Don’t Panic”

-Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

One thought on “Favourite Book Quotes

Leave a Reply

