Cat Books

In honour of adopting my new cat, Luna, I thought I would put together a list of books about cats. Turns out I have not read that many books with cats as major characters. However, I still made a list of books where the cat is at least a memorable character. Also, I promise these cats don’t die, because I refuse to read books where any animal is harmed.

  • Chester by Melanie Watt

One of my favourite picture books (As mentioned in my previous blog). About a big fat cat who wants to be the centre of attention so he rewrites the book as the author is writing about a mouse.

  • Angus, Thongs and Full Frontal Snogging by Louise Rennison

The first book in the YA Georgia Nicolson series. A hilarious, albeit somewhat juvenile, book about a high school girl in England just trying to figure out everyday life with a group of goofy friends. Angus is her half Scottish wildcat pet. Although he does not play a large role in the story, he is mentioned from time to time and is always funny.

  • Plain Kate by Erin Bow

This is a magical book about a girl who sells her shadow for a chance to escape the town that blames her for their hard times. Her cat, Taggle, gains the ability to speak and accompanies Kate on her adventure offering advice along the way.

  • I could pee on this by Francesco Marciuliano

This is a book of poems “written” by a cat. Need I say more?

  • All I Need to Know I Learned From My Cat by Suzy Becker

Cute book of cartoons about life lessons that a cat can teach you.

  • How to live with a neurotic cat by Stephen Baker

A funny book with illustrations about the crazy antics of cats.

  • Hate that cat by Sharon Creech

This is a children’s book written in poetry. It is the sequel to “Love that Dog”. In this story Jack is sorting out his feelings about a mean cat while discovering more poetry.

  • The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot

This is a bit of a stretch but I loved Fat Louie in the Princess Diaries series. He is only mentioned a handful of times but I can’t resist a fat cat (which is how I ended up with Luna!).

  • Pinky Pye by Elanor Estes

Another adorable book by Elanor Estes (author of The Moffats). This time it is about the Pye family adopting a tiny black kitten.

 

Leave a Reply

